Grand Divisions

Tennessee Equality Project seeks to advance and protect the civil rights of our State’s gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender persons and their families in each Grand Division.

Monday, May 9, 2011

Tennessee Equality Project elects new Board and Executive Officers

On Saturday, May 7, members and supporters from across Tennessee gathered in Nashville for Tennessee Equality Project's Annual Meeting to elect new Board  members for the term that begins on July 1, 2011. 

The following individuals will be returning to the Board for two-year terms: Wes Aull (Nashville), Jonathan Cole (Memphis), Brandon Hutchison (Nashville), H.G. Stovall (Hermitage), Ryan Ellis (Nashville), Latoya Belgrave (Clarksville), and Joe Rhymer (Bristol). 

New members elected to the board include Brad Palmertree (Jackson), Anne Gullick (Collierville) for two year terms and Herb Zeman (Memphis), Jennifer Swails-Wenger (Nashville) and John Winnett (Nashville) for one year terms.

The following Board members will continue in the second year of the their term: Robbie Bell, Michelle Bliss, Daniel Forrest, Anthony Johnson, Matia Powell, and Christy Tweddle.

We salute the service of those Board members who resigned from the Board during the last year: Darlene Fike, Natalie Reinoehl, and Lane Scoggin. Thanks also to Ryan Ellis (outgoing Vice President) and Christy Tweddle (outgoing At-Large) members of the Executive Committee for their service. Special thanks are due to H.G. Stovall whose second term as President was shortened by an early resignation to address an illness in the family.

After new Board members were elected, the Board-elect convened in executive session to select new executive officers. During the annual meeting recess, participants called State Senators to encourage votes against the Don't Say Gay Bill (SB049) and the Special Access to Discriminate Act (SB632).

The new Board returned after the election of Executive Committee officers with the following to announce:

President & Chair: Jonathan Cole
Vice President: Wes Aull
Secretary: Latoya Belgrave
Treasurer: Matia Powell
At-Large: H.G. Stovall

Please join me in thanking Board members past, present and future for their service to Tennessee Equality Project and our state. 

- Jonathan Cole

No comments: